Poker Columns
Sunday, February 23, 2020
open/closeFeatured Authors

MSPT Season 10 arrives in Minnesota

(PRESS RELEASE) -- Season 10 of the MSPT will come to a close at Minnesota's Canterbury Park - Racetrack & Card Casino, home to the first-ever MSPT event. For the second consecutive year the MSPT is ending the season with a bang by offering a $500,000 guarantee on the $1,100 Main Event, which will take place on Thursday, 5 December through Sunday, 8 December.

The venue, which requires players be 18 years or older, will host a series of $65 and $250 satellites in the weeks leading up to the final Main Event of the season.

The Main Event will offer three starting flights beginning with Day 1A at 3 p.m. on Thursday, 5 December. Days 1B and 1C will take place at the same time on Friday, 6 December and Sat. 7 December respectively. The surviving players from each flight will then return at 11 a.m. on Sunday, 8 December to play down to a winner.

The final table will be broadcast LIVE (15-minute delay) worldwide on using RFID technology allowing all viewers to see the hole cards. In addition, the entire Main Event will be live reported in the MSPT live blog.

The MSPT has hosted 17 Main Events at Canterbury Park over the years. Most recently, Michael Esquivel topped a 472-entry field to win September's event for $98,113 earning his first MSPT title. It was also at that stop Mark Hodge earned his way into MSPT Hall of Fame.

In last year's MSPT Season 9 finale at Canterbury Park, Andy Rubinberg prevailed over a 977-entry field to win his second MSPT title for $179,776! In December 2018, it was Ben Marsh who emerged victorious outlasting a 493-entry field to also win his second MSPT title for $102,493. Other MSPT Canterbury champs from the past include Mark Jaroslawski (April 2019 for $95,700), Matt Kirby (February 2019 for $99,573), Blake Bohn (September 2018 for $94,568), Rob Wazwaz (April 2018 for $109,375), Mark Collins (February 2018 for $102,076), Carl Carodenuto (April 2016 for $90,805 and December 2015 for $116,103), Dan "DQ" Hendrickson (April 2015 for $106,182), Mike Wilmes (April 2014 for $108,984), Adam Younis (April 2013 for $95,328), and inaugural champ John Dragich (2009 for $34,765).

Back to Columns

open/closeExpert Poker Strategy

open/closeLatest Poker News

PokerZone is owned by Casino City, an independent directory and information service not affiliated with any casino. Warning: You must ensure you meet all age and other regulatory requirements before entering a casino or placing a wager. There are hundreds of jurisdictions in the world with Internet access and hundreds of different games and gambling opportunities available on the Internet. Do not assume that Internet gaming sites are in compliance with the rules and regulations of every jurisdiction from which they accept players. YOU are responsible for determining if it is legal for YOU to play any particular game or place any particular wager under the laws of the jurisdiction where you are located.